Climate Craziness of the Week: “Climate Anxiety Counseling” Enters the Lexicon with a ‘Practitioner’

Image: http://www.wattsupwiththat.wordpress.com

I feel rather sorry for the person being spoken of in the following article. And I am not being facetious. In her deeply religious fervor/state, this poor woman believes she is trying to help people. And this is sad, since she is simply preaching another Darwinian-eugenics inspired, corporate-capitalist created hoax:

Climate Craziness of the Week: “Climate Anxiety Counseling” enters the lexicon with a ‘practitioner’

Anthony Watts / August 30, 2016

From the truth is stranger than fiction department comes this …this… I don’t know how to describe it. Words fail me.

h/t to Mhehed Zherting on Twitter

From her website:

Climate Anxiety Counseling at the Sankofa World Market: 8/17/16
AUGUST 18, 2016 / LEAVE A COMMENT
Weather: Hot, sunny and bright

Number of people: 9 stoppers, 1 walkby

Number of climate change deniers/trivializers: 3

Number of hecklers: 0!

Pages of notes: 9

People who commented on the Peanuts reference: 2

Pictures taken with permission: 1

Pictures taken without permission: 1

Money raised for Environmental Justice League of RI: $2.60, plus one stick of gum

About
CLIMATE ANXIETY COUNSELING

I’m scared for the effects of climate change on the world I love. Rather than try to think about, save, or mourn for the whole world, I decided to think about my city and state, and the living creatures — including other humans — who share it with me.

The first round of Climate Anxiety Counseling ran in Kennedy Plaza (outside Burnside Park), Tuesday-Friday 3-6 pm, Saturday 3-5 pm, May 13th-June 7th, 2014. Opposite the bus terminal, and just outside Burnside Park, I sat with a Lucy-from-Peanuts style booth (thank you, Charles Schulz):

When people stopped to talk with me, I asked them what they were most worried about — whether it was related to climate change or to something else — and if I could write down what they said. With permission, I’ve shared on this site some of what people said to me.

If you come to the booth, you can share your anxiety–climate or otherwise–with me, and respond to someone else’s anxiety in the form of an Alternate History, to help imagine a different set of futures (more about how and why here). You can also take away a little drawing of a living creature that shares the state with you. I’ve since set up the booth at AS220’s Foo Fest, the Washington County Fair, the Sankofa World Market, and the Providence International Art Festival.

I had to laugh at the “Pictures taken without permission” reference. She sets up in a public place, where photography of anything in public view is fair game, yet still thinks people need to ask permission to take photos of her stunt. Epic fail.

My anxiety about climate used to be essentially zero, but now extends to the fact that there are people like this who are so sure of themselves that they can say “let’s take care of each other” in their masthead, while at the same time use the pejorative “climate deniers” to label people. I guess the take care thing is selective based on belief.

It reminds me of a certain religion, where being publicly chastised for putting your religion on display is not only expected, it is part of the process of ascension in the ranks. On the plus side, I think we have a candidate for somebody even further “out there” than “Slandering Sou” aka Miriam O’Brien.

Source: Climate Craziness of the Week: “Climate Anxiety Counseling” enters the lexicon with a ‘practitioner’ | Watts Up With That?

P.S.

Climate Change worriers attempt to formally create new Epoch: the Anthropocene | Watts Up With That?

Leave a Reply

