“A Lawmaker Is Trying to Ban Howard Zinn Literature from Schools”

Image: http://www.slideplayer.com

“Civil disobedience is not our problem. Our problem is civil obedience. Our problem is that people all over the world have obeyed the dictates of leaders…and millions have been killed because of this obedience…Our problem is that people are obedient allover the world in the face of poverty and starvation and stupidity, and war, and cruelty. Our problem is that people are obedient while the jails are full of petty thieves… (and) the grand thieves are running the country. That’s our problem.”

― Howard Zinn

Big Brother (Statism) hates to be exposed for the genocidal, control-freak liar he is and has always been. And Howard Zinn spent a great deal of his life exposing Big Brother. So it should be of no surprise that Big Brother’s (s)elected stooges, exposed in the following article, have been, and still are, seeking to silence Zinn’s master works:

Legislation from Rep. Kim Hendren would keep Howard Zinn works from all public and charter schools.

(COMMONDREAMS) A Republican Arkansas lawmaker has introduced legislation to ban the works of the late historian, activist, and writer Howard Zinn from publicly funded schools.

The bill from Rep. Kim Hendren, just noted by the Arkansas Times, was introduced on Thursday and referred to the House Committee on Education.

It states (pdf) that any “public school district or an open-enrollment public charter school shall not include in its curriculum or course materials for a class or program of study any book or other material” authored by Zinn from 1959 until 2010, the year in which he died.

The Zinn Education Project, which aims to “to introduce students to a more accurate, complex, and engaging understanding of United States history than is found in traditional textbooks and curricula,” noted Thursday that educators in the state may have a very different take from Hendren: “To date, there are more than 250 teachers in Arkansas who have signed up to access people’s history lessons from the Zinn Education Project website.”

The project is also offering a free copy of Zinn’s seminal A People’s History of the United States to any Arkansas teacher who requests it:

At least one high school class in northern Arkansas is making its opposition to the legislation clear already:

Publisher Haymarket Books, meanwhile, tweeted in response to the news that people should read more of Zinn’s works.

It’s not first time in recent history the works of the legendary Zinn have been the target of suppression.

Emails unearthed by the Associated Press in 2013, for example, revealed that former Governor of Indiana Mitch Daniels sought to ban Zinn’s works from that state’s classrooms, and the Tucson, Arizona school district in 2012 banned A People’s History from all classrooms.

Given the response in Indiana to the revelations of Daniel’s censorship attempt, however, Hendren may also find his own Zinn-banning efforts backfire.

by Andrea Germanos

Source: A Lawmaker Is Trying to Ban Howard Zinn Literature from Schools

42 thoughts on ““A Lawmaker Is Trying to Ban Howard Zinn Literature from Schools””

  1. But everybody knows the U.S., in contrast, say, to Cuba, is all about freedom of speech, so that in the to-and-fro of rational debate, the “truth” might have a chance of gaining ascendancy over our collective benightedness . . . I guess that Howard must spouting one or two inaccuracies or lies. Why else would lawmakers, who entrusted to protect the public against their own misguided ignorance, want to ban him? Zinnism bad. Zionism is altogether another story, and apparently a very good one.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So, Norm, what are you really trying to say here? I mean, speak out! Lay it on the line!;-)

    You aren’t, you couldn’t be (god forbid), suggesting that there is a tad bit of hypocrisy going on in the good old US of A, are you?

    I must say, I am shocked! How dare you speak the truth, Goyim! Truth can only come from those chosen of god!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good! Neither am I!

    Where am I?

    What’s this thing in front of me, with a tv and a keyboard?

    I’m confused!

    I’ve fallen, and I can’t get up!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You use a tv and a keyboard, Sojourner? Well, that’s your problem right there. Oh, wait. I use a tv, too. A big mother fuck**g flat screen, so that I don’t have to squint. When I get messages from you, they are big, really big. A big is how I like ’em. (That doesn’t sound quite right, does it? Well, I guess that if I did swing that way, I’d like ’em, too, the way I like my messages from you. Analogically, speaking.)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great! Now, after almost seven decades, I finally know what my problem is!

    Thanks, Norm! I thought my problem was, I am old and not too bright, and broke, and can’t get laid, and hate my government, and don’t got no booze (like the double negative?) to forget all of this.

    But now I know my problem is, I use a tv and a keyboard!

    No problem, Norm. Remember, I’m a musician, and so I know all about “swinging that way”, not that I do myself.

    I swing like a pendulum do, or was that a metronome, which, of course, has a swinging pendulum. Wait, does this mean metronomes are gay?!!!

    Like

  6. Now Norm, methinks you think methinks too much, and too acutely accurately.

    I am, after all, a product of the American “education system”, so don’t expect me to understand or know much!

    Like

  7. “Wait, does this mean metronomes are gay?!!!”

    Gayness is a fact of nature, Sojourner. In every population, there is a natural incidence of it. Therefore, there can be not question that at least some metronomes, and even pendulums, are gay, and even used by gays, to keep musical time and probably other things, too. I’ve never met a gay man who wasn’t imaginative. I can’t say about gay women. I’ve never known any. (Wait, what the hell did I just write?)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Norm, you wrote this:

    “Therefore, there can be not question that at least some metronomes, and even pendulums, are gay, and even used by gays, to keep musical time and probably other things, too.”

    Once again, I am more than aware that gays use metronomes. I just wasn’t sure if there was a difference between a gay and a hetero metronome, since metronomes swing in the same manner!

    You’ve never known a gay woman, Norm? I thought all women were happy?

    Like

  9. AND just something I’ve noticed. WordPress is having fun with me and my comments, as they appear on your blog. Every time I being a sentence with “and,” only the “a,” capitalized appears. Maybe WordPress has finally figured out I’m French and is trying to incorporate my accent in print?

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I wondered about this, Norm. I thought it was just a typo!

    Hey, WordPress, are you doing a Google on us?

    Like

  11. AH! I missed that entirely. Excuse me. I really feel a fit of laughter coming on. Lets just call them “Heteronomes” and “metronomes,” just so we can keep it all straight between the two of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Probably. But as a geek, I never sang in the stairwells of the school of music I attended.

    We heteronome users used to get annoyed at the metronome users for singing in between classes. We thought it was “so gay” to sing in the stairwells!

    But that was when the dinosaurs roamed the commons, and gay still meant happy!

    Like

  13. “You’ve never known a gay woman, Norm? I thought all women were happy?”

    That’s what when I’m out camping with my borther-in-law we call “irony.” We’d never get away with it at home. That’s why we talk that way when we are camping. Alone. Away from the women. (It’s okay if you go camping with your brother-in-law alone, isn’t it?)

    Liked by 1 person

  14. BTW, I’m still laughing about heteronomes. It sounds like something a hetero puts in his garden! Of course, with no g!

    Like

  15. (It’s okay if you go camping with your brother-in-law alone, isn’t it?)

    I guess, Norm! My brother-in-law was a six-foot eight psycho, so needless to say, I made sure I was never alone with him!

    Like

  16. I’ll bet there was more to that singing in the stairwells than you knew. Did you investigate each and every instance of it? Probably not. Empirical evidence, Sojourner, empirical evidence. And the isn’t “singing in the stairwell” an expression for something?

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Oh, it was the metronomes all right.

    Actually, I lied, One day, three of us broke into harmony, singing Three Dog Night’s Celebrate. The metronomes were not impressed or amused.

    By the way, the metronomes were cool, it was after all, a school of music. And without the metronomes, a lot of great music would have never existed.

    Like

  18. Yep, he could have broken me in half! And my x used to get in his face.

    I told her once, Honey, you’re on your own! What’s that about something being the better part of valor?

    Like

  19. As you should be!;-)

    And no you are not, as you should be!

    I’m telling you, the Tube would be pissed off about all this back and forth! He thinks this is his domain.

    Like

  20. He is just sooo pointy headed, that guy. He needs to loosen up, a little, over what he takes to be his domain. We should send him camping with your bro-in-law. That’d take the curls out of his pompadour.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I really gotta go, but do you remember what the point of this post was? I can’t seem to remember!;-)

    Like

Leave a Reply

